Tired Muscles

Oh boy, am I sore! Swim practices are really getting to me! I have now realized how out of shape I am in the water. As much as my body wants to skip out halfway through practice, I force my mind to remind myself that I can do this; I am STRONG enough! This applies to the challenge of maintaining a healthy lifestyle, as well as many other things in life.

Before heading to practice I fueled up with an apple.

20140108-205210.jpg

 

We had a killer set today:                  Total Yards: 3600

-10×100 Free

-6×100 Pull

-8×50 kick

-4×25 Underwater

-12×100 Free/Stroke/Speed

-8×25 No Breath

-100 Cooldown

 

I had to be super speedy getting ready this morning, and I needed quick protein before class. I mixed Blue Diamond Almond Milk with a half scoop of chocolate protein powder.

20140108-205217.jpg

 

It gave me a fast form of recovery fuel, but I was still very hungry for real food. Unfortunately, I only had enough time to race to class.

After class, my only thought went to food! I went back to my dorm room and prepared egg whites topped with salsa, and some frozen berries.

20140108-205223.jpg

20140108-205230.jpg

 

I didn’t take a picture of lunch, but I had a turkey sandwich with lettuce, tomato, and mustard, and an apple on the side. After lunch I worked on some homework, and read more of Divergent(I cannot put the book down!). I then went down to the “home” gym we have in my dorm, and did 15 minutes on the elliptical, and 15 minutes on the treadmill. I covered about two miles with both of the machines combined.

20140108-205238.jpg

 

I also received a special treat from my Secret Sister. My friends and I started a Secret Sister  thing together, and we get a new one each semester. Mine left me a note that read, “Have yourself a merry little J-term.”, and left a tube of mini Reese’s. Whoever it is, thank you!

After my run, I was craving carbs and salt so I had some Multigrain Club crackers.

20140108-205245.jpg

 

About an two hours and several chapters of my book later, we all met up for dinner in the caf. Still no picture, but I made a simple salad, and I had a banana on the side.

After dinner we met up with a group from church, and played board games while drinking hot chocolate. It was a fun way to end the day.

I just got back, and as I write up this post I am trying one of my Sun Cups.

20140108-205252.jpg

 

They look identical to Reese’s, but with a distinct sunflower seed taste. I enjoyed them.

20140108-205258.jpg

 

I think its time to read more of my book! Seriously, read Divergent before the movie comes out!

Leave a Reply

